Honored Life Member Award

The Awards Committee will review and nominate individuals who, by their exemplary service to the Association or to the profession, deserve recognition as Honorary Life Member of the Association.  Recipients receive a plaque and lifetime membership in the Association.


 † - deceased

2024: Louis D'Abramo

2023: Peter Cook

2021: Ximing Guo

2018: Donal Manahan

2018: Dennis Hedgecock

2016: Aad Smaal

2015: Richard Lutz

2012: Susan E. Ford (In memoriam)
NSA Shellfish Pioneer

In memoriam QNL 2018.1

2012: John N. Kraeuter

2011: Rita Colwell

2009: Eugene M. Burreson

2008: Roger Mann

2003: George R. Abbe (In memoriam)

In memoriam QNL 2013.3

2001: Sandra E. Shumway 

Marshall Newsletter Biography 2019

1998: B.L. Bayne OBE

1996: John H. Ryther (In memoriam)

1995: R. Tucker Abbott (In memoriam)

1995: Robert R.L. Guillard (In memoriam)

1994: Victor S. Kennedy

1993: Dexter S. Haven (In memoriam QNL 2011)

1993: Herbert Hidu

1992: Victor G. Burrell (In memoriam)

In memoriam QNL 2010

1992: Sammy M. Ray (In memoriam)
Of BBQ and Oysters: Dr Sammy Ray

In memoriam QNL 2013.4

1992: Ruth Turner (In memoriam)

1991: Aaron Rosenfield (In memoriam)

1991: Carl Sindermann

1990: Neil Bourne (In memoriam)
 (In memoriam QNL 2018.3)

1990: Michael Castagna

NSA Shellfish Pioneer

1989: Kenneth Chew

1989: Robert M. Ingle

1988: Ronald E. Westley

1984: J. L. McHugh

1981: Philip Butler

1981: John Glude (In memoriam)

1981: R. Winston Menzel (In memoriam)

In memoriam QNL 1989

1980: A. F. Chestnut

1980: Cedric E. Lindsay

1979: Harold H. Haskin (In memoriam) In memoriam QNL 2002

NSA Shellfish Pioneer

1978: Jay D. Andrews

1978: H. Butler Flower

1978: Melbourne R. (Mel) Carriker  (In memoriam†     In memoriam QNL 2007   
Behind the Scenes Writing Taming the Oyster - QNL 2004 

NSA Shellfish Pioneer

1977: Pieter Korringa

1976: J. Richards Nelson

NSA Shellfish Pioneer

1973: Dennis Crisp (In memoriam)

1973: Gordon Gunter  

Gordon Pennington Gunter by W. David Burke - Gulf Research Reports, 11(1), 1999

1973: J. C. Medcof (In memoriam)

1973: Lyle S. St. Amant (In memoriam)

1973: Daniel Quayle (In memoriam)

In memoriam QNL 1994

1971: James B. Engle (In memoriam)

1969: Robert Lunz

1969: Arthur S. Merrill (In memoriam)

In memoriam QNL 2010

1968: Walter A. Chipman

1968: Sewell H. Hopkins

1967: David Belding

1963: Victor L. Loosanoff (In memoriam) In memoriam QNL 1987
Pioneering Shellfish Biologists - QNL 2004 

Milford Connecticut's Unsung Hero - by Ronald Goldberg

1960: Wesley Coe

1960: R. E. Coker

1960: David Wallace  (In memoriam QNL 2014.1)

1957: Paul S. Galtsoff

Pioneering Shellfish Biologist - QNL 2004

1957: Trevor Kincaid

1957: Thurlow C. Nelson    NSA Shellfish Pioneer

Memories of Thurlow C. Nelson by H. Perry Jeffries - QNL 2008

1957: Reginald V. Truitt (In memoriam)

Profiles in Science: Chesapeake Quarterly, Maryland Sea Grant (2013)

1914: Hugh Smith 

1910: Harvey W. Wiley